Thursday, December 9, 2010

Is he housebroken?

Is he housebroken? Oh boy - pet peeve number whatever.
People contact me about a particular fosterdog and the only question they have is "Is he housebroken?

So.... really? Is that the only thing you can think of to ask about a dog you are thinking you might like to add to your family. What about personality? temperament? energy level???

But back to the subject. First of all - What a stupid word. Choose your words carefully people and give language the respect it deserves. Language has power. House-trained is so much better and so much more accurate. So lets use the correct wording.

And housetraining is a BIG subject. Do you mean will the dog pee in the house if you leave him there 4 hours? 8 hours? 12 hours? Whatever the length of time, I say YOU do it before you expect your dog to do it. Can you go 10 hours without peeing? That's about the average work day - 8 hours plus travel time. That'll be one uncomfortable ride home.

Or do you mean will the dog get into the garbage, take stuff off the counters, chew things, etc.?

There are some people for whom training a dog is FUN. For others its work. A Border Collie is not the dog for someone who thinks its work. Those people should get a cat. Or perhaps a plastic pink flamingo.